Tags

, , ,

Almost made it to 10,000 steps the day we were in NYC!

Almost made it to 10,000 steps the day we were in NYC!

“We walk without fear, full of hope and courage and strength to do His will, waiting for the endless good which He is always giving as fast as He can get us able to take it in.” — George MacDonald

10K-A-Day – That is the goal I rashly committed myself to. I knew I should have declined that steering committee meeting! The company where I work is encouraging all the employees to walk 10,000 steps per day, and there is a competition for the month of June. Some of the leaders on the steering committee needed another person to complete their team, so that is why I’m now walking around with a pedometer, getting up at 5:45 am to get more steps in, and sometimes even choosing a far parking space. I also make extra trips to the department kitchen during the day to see if there are any good snacks, although I’m not sure that’s in the spirit of the competition.

When I first started, I quickly realized how impossible it was going to be for me to meet this 10-K-A-Day goal (approximately 5 miles), and I was scared! I didn’t want to look bad in front of a whole bunch of company Vice Presidents!

I have been thinking about what it means to walk without fear. My fear in this particular situation has eased because the daily results are posted online. Very few people are walking 10,000 steps each day. I’m somewhere around average and I feel better. I know this is not the right way to think. Our pastor often talks about how Jesus died to set us free from the greater-than/less-than mindset. Because Christ loves me, I don’t have to live with the fear that comes from comparing myself to others.

So I get up each morning and walk outside and enjoy the cool air, the empty neighborhood, and Lecrae rapping on my iPod. There are a lot of things I want to accomplish each day, and I have a lot of long-term ambitions generally. But when I think of walking without fear, I think that it’s okay to work toward goals when there is no guarantee of success, because I don’t have to be afraid of failure.

How do you walk without fear?

